boxing clever records

store is closed

CaveofswordS / Sigils

Release Date: Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Mixing together elements of psych rock, electronica, shoegaze and dream pop to create something greater than the sum of its parts is the modus operandi of CaveofswordS. The music on Sigils sounds much more robust, layered and intricate than the majority of contemporary popular artists in the genres that the group touches upon. The opening track, “Aviation Administration,” establishes the depth of the band’s tonal layers and introduces listeners to the enchanting vocals of Sunyatta McDermott. Her lyrics and delivery evoke a nod to Siouxsie Sioux, which serves as a proper foil to the rich tapestries of the music created by herself and bandmates Kevin McDermott, Eric Armbruster and Zagk Gibbons. The tracks that follow continue a journey of discovery on tracks like “Pastense” and “Datura” before taking a slightly darker turn in “Lately” before raising the mood again on “Feathers.” Sigils is a listener’s album in all the right ways, filled with clever twists and turns that make a great collection of music worth revisiting again and again.

1 / Aviation Administration

2 / Blameless

3 / Pastense

4 / Datura

5 / Sands

6 / Lately

7 / Beltless

8 / Feathers

9 / Cruel Harvest

10 / Stylish Woes